Can someone explain deathmages??

The place to discuss the new Fantasy game of endless war

Moderator: Keepers of the Peace

Wmossuk
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4

Can someone explain deathmages??

Postby Wmossuk » Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:34 am

Hey all. I'm a very new starter to Warhammer in general and really enjoying the AoS stuff. I'm interested by the Death Armies however I'm confused about deathmages and their ability to cast summon spells for other units.

Why would you not deploy your Tomb Banshee from the beginning instead?

Or am I missing something???

WoodenGoblin

Re: Can someone explain deathmages??

Postby WoodenGoblin » Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:57 am

Scenarios outside of Matched Play or Pitched Battles, positioning, protect it from early targeting, adding more strategy, and story telling are my thoughts. There are probably others since I'm very new to the hobby.
Age of Sigmar Player and Hobbyist
Always looking for new people to play with.
Primarily Destruction Faction (WAAGH!)

SquirrelMaster
Pick number 4 to enter: 1

Postby SquirrelMaster » Thu Aug 18, 2016 7:32 am

Some of what occurs to me:

1. If you deploy a banshee normally, then move her forward 6" on turn 1, she will be 18" away from enemies (unless your opponent went first and moved towards you). She won't be able to scream or charge. If you summon her, you can place her 9" away. She can start screaming at stuff on turn 1, and potentially even charge on turn 1.

2. Deploying fewer models means more chance of winning first-turn priority.

3. In the escalation mission, it allows you to get more stuff on the table quickly.

4. If you deploy a banshee over on the left, but the stuff you really want her to kill is over on the right, it's harder to get her where she needs to be.