Very new to Warhammer

In the dark future there is only war!

Moderators: Grimsmite, Keepers of the Peace

Haccani
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4

Very new to Warhammer

Postby Haccani » Fri May 26, 2017 8:56 am

I'm very new to this. I was kind of wondering how to properly get started. I also would like to know more about the way it's played.

Del Stuart

Re: Very new to Warhammer

Postby Del Stuart » Sat May 27, 2017 7:32 am

Hi!

You will be worth waiting a few weeks before fully learning the game as it is changing very soon with the new edition.

But at a basic level your models have stats that tell you how they fight and you roll dice to try and beat specific scores to do things in game
The Warhammer Forum : Warmachine section moderator

My market feedback link

viewtopic.php?f=68&t=97211

Smith Kappa

Postby Smith Kappa » Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:38 pm

If I was starting new with the knowledge I have built up over the last 10 years I would do the following things to get myself started.

1. Use a discount webstore such as TripleHelix Wargames for 25% off (if you have a local distributer you can support it if you wish).
2. Choose an army you like the look of, the background story of or one that is suited to your likes such as melee, shooty, evil or good. you can find lore and backgrounds on youtube.
3. Once chosen an army you like its a good idea to start with a "Start Collecting" box set, these sets are great value for money. To save money in the future you can buy models from ebay, if they are painted your can always strip it off of them with dettol etc... An extra tip, don't buy everything you want at once model wise, it can be really off putting having piles of models to build.
4. Make sure to buy the essential tools, may I recommend 'army painter' for your pliers, hand drills and brushes. Personally I use 'Revell' for my plastic glue and highly recommend it. Also remember to buy a fist full of dice and a measuring tape.