A question about Nova type psychic powers

In the dark future there is only war!

Moderators: Grimsmite, Keepers of the Peace

Lord Xcapobl
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:55 pm
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4

A question about Nova type psychic powers

Postby Lord Xcapobl » Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:44 pm

Having read the entry on "Nova" on page 27 of the rulebook, and, for example, the Sunburst power from the Pyromancy discipline on page 196 I am still left with a question. The current Errata & FAQ does not adress this.
The Nova entry clearly states that all enemy units in range of the power are automatically targeted and hit with a profile not unlike a weapon's profile. Sunburst (for example, I could also mention Shockwave on page 197 or Cleansing Flame on 194) has the Assault 2D6 type. Suppose three enemy units are within range. Do I then:

A) roll 2D6 for the number of attacks, roll To Hit, and assign hits to whatever enemy model is closest regardless of what enemy unit it is from? (As if the power is actually affecting a potential total of 2D6 targets maximum as it spreads out from the Psyker.)

B) roll 2D6 for the number of attacks against enemy unit 1, roll To Hit, etc., roll 2D6 for the number of attacks against enemy unit 2, roll To Hit, etc., and also roll 2D6 for the number of attacks against enemy unit 3, roll To Hit, etc.? (As the Nova targets each enemy unit in range and then applies its weapon-like profile. Five enemy units in range means 10D6 potential attacks from a single, simple, Warp Charge 1 power.)

Thanks in advance for the answers.
The only dumb question is the one you never asked, for you will never have an answer to it.

User avatar
Squidmaster
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:57 pm
Pick number 4 to enter: 1
Location: Winchester
Contact:

Re: A question about Nova type psychic powers

Postby Squidmaster » Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:00 pm

A Nova automatiocally targets andf hits all enemy units in range.

So when the power is used, if its profil says Assault 2d6, then every unit in range is automatically hit 2d6 times.
Unit A would be hit 2d6 times, then unit B would be hit 2d6 times.
The 2d6 is rolled seperately for each unit within range (not specifically stated in the book, but covered in the current First Draft FAQs on Facebook)
How many Space Marines does it take to change a lightbulb?
None. Such is the work of the tech-priests.


Return to “Warhammer 40.000”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest