A brief note that the new Detachment systems found in some new Codexes such as the Decurion (Necron), Bloodhost (Khorne Daemonkin) and whatever the Eldar one is called (Eldar) are still ok, so long as you don't overstep the unit limitations.
So for example in the Khorne Daemonkin, Chaos Space Marines are still listed as Troops choices and are therefore still 0-4.
The Blood Host Detachment's core Slaughtercult may say 2-8, but the maximum number for Troops units is still 4 (so in this case, it would actually mean 2-4, try to follow).
Likewise where Fast Attack units are 0-2, Chaos Bikers are also still 0-2. If you took a Gorepack as an auxilary choice, you would still oinly be able to take up to 2 Bike squads because that is the tournament limit (though in this case a Gorepack would also require a minimum of 2 as well, so you'd just have two).
(I really wish these new Detachment types had a special name)
To throw a quick Necron example to see if it makes things clearer.
Lets say you take a Decurion Detachment and as its core you take a Reclamation Legion. The Reclamation Legion says you can have 1-3 units of Tomb Blades. These are listed as Fast Attack, and are therefore limited in the tournament comp to a maximum of two. So you'd only be able to have 1-2 instead.
Note however that this does mean that certain choices will be banned for you.
A Destroyer Cult requires that you take 3 Destroyer units. As this is above the 0-2 for Fast Attack choices, you could not take this choice as it breaks the comp.
Similar if you take a Reclamation Legion, you must include an Overlord. This means you could not take a Royal Court with an Overlord because your 0-1 of Overlords has been filled already (though you could take a Court with Imotekh instead).
I would also note the thing that annoys me most about these Detachments, and that is that the auxilary choices have the same names as almost identical Formations, but they are NOT the same as the Formations.
Taking the Charnal Cohort Auxilary choice in the Detachment does not give you the bonus special rules of the Charnal Cohort Formation.
Be careful of that.
Last edited by Squidmaster
on Sun May 31, 2015 9:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
How many Space Marines does it take to change a lightbulb?
None. Such is the work of the tech-priests.