Rules discussions

Latest news and chat from the European Warhammer 40K Team Championship.

Moderators: ETC moderators, Keepers of the Peace

hanwulf
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:14 am
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Rules discussions

Postby hanwulf » Thu Jan 15, 2015 4:07 pm

To start up we have the following discusion witch is not clear to us.

When a unit with the Brotherhood of psykers casts a blessing power on itself, after that moment from which model do you measure the area of effect for that blessing.

In example you have a unit of pink horros casting cursed earth. The rules specify that at the casting moment you measure range and los from one pink horror, but after that moment do you still measure from that same model or from any model in the unit ( making a larger buble)

MOD: Moved to 40K Section
By Arthain
Bogdan Anton - Romania Team Captain

tomepnk
Moderator
Posts: 4648
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:12 pm
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Rules discussions

Postby tomepnk » Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:45 pm

hanwulf wrote:To start up we have the following discusion witch is not clear to us.

When a unit with the Brotherhood of psykers casts a blessing power on itself, after that moment from which model do you measure the area of effect for that blessing.

In example you have a unit of pink horros casting cursed earth. The rules specify that at the casting moment you measure range and los from one pink horror, but after that moment do you still measure from that same model or from any model in the unit ( making a larger buble)

MOD: Moved to 40K Section
By Arthain


From the model that cast it.
Chairmen ETC 2010-2014, 2016
Team Belgium 40K Captain ETC 2017, 2016, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2010
40K Head Referee & Team Belgium 40K Serving Wench ETC 2011
ESC Referee 2014

hanwulf
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:14 am
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Re: Rules discussions

Postby hanwulf » Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:26 am

ok.

Second question Can you make a Lookout sir atempt on a wound sufered as a result of perils of the warp attack?

I looked in all the rules here is nothing that says you cant.
Bogdan Anton - Romania Team Captain

tomepnk
Moderator
Posts: 4648
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:12 pm
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Rules discussions

Postby tomepnk » Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:38 am

hanwulf wrote:ok.

Second question Can you make a Lookout sir atempt on a wound sufered as a result of perils of the warp attack?

I looked in all the rules here is nothing that says you cant.


Look out sir only applies to shooting and assault. Not to every wound allocated ;)

Look Out, Sir and Shooting
When a Wound is allocated to one of your non-vehicle characters, and there is
another model from the same unit within 6", he is allowed a Look Out, Sir
attempt. This represents the character ducking back further into the unit,
holding a comrade in the line of fire, or being pushed aside by a selfless ally. If
no model is in range, then you cannot make a Look Out, Sir attempt.
To make a Look Out, Sir attempt, roll a D6.
• On a roll of 3 or less, the Look Out, Sir attempt fails.
• On a roll of 4+, the Look Out, Sir attempt is successful. Determine which
model in the unit is closest to the character, and allocate the Wound to that
model instead. This can even be a model that is out of range or line of sight of
the shooting attack.
If the unit only consists of characters, a Look Out, Sir attempt can still be
made, with the closest character within 6" taking the place of the erstwhile
victim if the roll is passed. Only one Look Out, Sir attempt can be made per
Wound allocated – once the Wound ha

Look Out, Sir and Assaults
As with shooting attacks, if a non-vehicle character has a Wound allocated to
him, and there is another model from the same unit within 6", he’s allowed a
Look Out, Sir attempt. This works exactly the same way as for shooting attacks.
However, a character who is fighting in a challenge (see below) cannot attempt
to make a Look Out, Sir attempt – it is a duel of honour and none can interfere.


See rulebook entries quoted above.
Chairmen ETC 2010-2014, 2016
Team Belgium 40K Captain ETC 2017, 2016, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2010
40K Head Referee & Team Belgium 40K Serving Wench ETC 2011
ESC Referee 2014

Crafter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 12:52 pm
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4

Re: Rules discussions

Postby Crafter » Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:12 pm

So I have a question regarding Army Composition. It seems that fortifications are not counted as a source regarding the 2 source maximum per army.

So would it be possible to take Imperial Knights Adamantine Lance + Tau Fireblade Formation + Fortification?

Cheers.
Team Ireland Chairman 2015

Targetawg
Posts: 564
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:08 pm
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4

Re: Rules discussions

Postby Targetawg » Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:30 pm

Crafter wrote:So I have a question regarding Army Composition. It seems that fortifications are not counted as a source regarding the 2 source maximum per army.

So would it be possible to take Imperial Knights Adamantine Lance + Tau Fireblade Formation + Fortification?

Cheers.


Fortifications are not counted as a source, however you still must have a force organization slot in one of your two detachments in order to take one. To my knowledge neither of those have the option to take a fortification.
2013 & 2014 Team USA Player
2015 Team USA Captain
2016 Team USA Captain
2017 Team USA Captain

tomepnk
Moderator
Posts: 4648
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:12 pm
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Rules discussions

Postby tomepnk » Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:31 pm

What Andrew said.
Chairmen ETC 2010-2014, 2016
Team Belgium 40K Captain ETC 2017, 2016, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2010
40K Head Referee & Team Belgium 40K Serving Wench ETC 2011
ESC Referee 2014

MVL
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 1:44 pm
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4

Re: Rules discussions

Postby MVL » Fri Feb 20, 2015 2:32 am

Can I get an official answer as to whether necron infantry models may now use the 32mm bases, given that the Reclamation Legion and other Formation bundles on the GW website come with them automatically?
Matei Vladimir Lungu
Team Romania 40k 2017 - Captain

User avatar
Noble Korhedron
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 6:41 pm
Pick number 4 to enter: 1
Location: Leinster, Ireland.

Re: Rules discussions

Postby Noble Korhedron » Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:58 am

MVL wrote:Can I get an official answer as to whether necron infantry models may now use the 32mm bases, given that the Reclamation Legion and other Formation bundles on the GW website come with them automatically?
If you have old 28 mm bases, you can still use them as far as I know. At least, I heard that's GW's own view of things. Of course anything new you buy is probably going to come with 32 mm round bases.

MVL
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 1:44 pm
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4

Re: Rules discussions

Postby MVL » Sun Feb 22, 2015 10:47 pm

Noble Korhedron wrote:
MVL wrote:Can I get an official answer as to whether necron infantry models may now use the 32mm bases, given that the Reclamation Legion and other Formation bundles on the GW website come with them automatically?
If you have old 28 mm bases, you can still use them as far as I know. At least, I heard that's GW's own view of things. Of course anything new you buy is probably going to come with 32 mm round bases.


Not everything new comes with them, but for instance, a Reclamation Legion comes with 40 32mm bases, so they're available for immortals, warriors, lychguard and triarch praetorians.

Would very much appreciate the official Yes/No from the Council so that I can get to basing without realizing I've wasted time.

Thx.
Matei Vladimir Lungu
Team Romania 40k 2017 - Captain

Duke Charlemange
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:49 pm
Pick number 4 to enter: 1
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Rules discussions

Postby Duke Charlemange » Fri Jun 03, 2016 2:05 pm

Can Tau XV109 Y'Vahra Battlesuit and similar forgeword battlesuits be taken in ETC 2016, as part of CAD?

User avatar
TeamSweden40K
Posts: 1295
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:41 pm

Re: Rules discussions

Postby TeamSweden40K » Fri Jun 03, 2016 2:15 pm

Duke Charlemange wrote:Can Tau XV109 Y'Vahra Battlesuit and similar forgeword battlesuits be taken in ETC 2016, as part of CAD?


No. Forge World is not allowed.
Rikard Tröger - online spokesperson
Swedish 40K ETC team 2013-2016


Return to “40K - European Team Championships”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest