Help needed Essay template in the form of warhammer strategy

This is for rules development, house rules and the like

Moderator: Keepers of the Peace

MysticalMamba

Help needed Essay template in the form of warhammer strategy

Postby MysticalMamba » Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:20 pm

Ok, I don't play warhammer - (although every male in my family does)
I'm a teacher, and I have a very bright student who struggles with structuring essays - I figure that he must be good at strategy and tactics if he's a keen warhammer player - but how can I combine the two?

Do any of you lovely chaps have a template for a battle strategy (tabletop or RPG) that I could tinker with in order to turn it into a strategy for writing an essay? You would be most awesome!

Thank you
xxxx

Halldorben
Anti-Spam Filter: No
Pick number 4 to enter: 4

Re: Help needed Essay template in the form of warhammer strategy

Postby Halldorben » Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:12 am

Advice for him: Pick an interesting subject to write about.

Nothing more to it.
Halfling Hot Pot: the last, best hope for peace.

subversive
Pick number 4 to enter: 1

Postby subversive » Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:43 am

Battle Reports (regularly found in White Dwarf magazine and other publications) have a fairly standard format, but I'm not sure that's what you're after. You say "turn it into a strategy for writing an essay." I'm not sure if that would make any sense - there aren't really any kinds of formal ways of presenting a strategy for Warhammer. It tends to be a more narrative structure. Example:

I'll deploy my Chosen Chaos Warriors (very tough, hard hitting and hard to kill unit) in the center of the board in order to maximize their ability to reach any part of the table they're needed.
I'll deploy my knights on a flank to perform a sweep across the board to support my mainstay combat units.
Well, my plan went to hell in a handbasket, as my opponent tied up my Chosen and knights with chaff units all game while mopping up the rest of my army.