Search found 2132 matches

by Phoenixenvy
Mon May 19, 2014 4:39 am
Forum: The Market
Topic: Out a While, looking to sell Vampire Counts - Advice?
Replies: 4
Views: 156

Re: Out a While, looking to sell Vampire Counts - Advice?

I don't have the list yet, as I spent today listing another army. There are some photos in the link on my sig from when I had been working on them, though I intend to photograph everything I'll have for sale. I missed the most recent book and any releases that went with, but if there's anything you'...
by Phoenixenvy
Sun May 18, 2014 5:21 pm
Forum: The Market
Topic: Out a While, looking to sell Vampire Counts - Advice?
Replies: 4
Views: 156

Out a While, looking to sell Vampire Counts - Advice?

Hey folks, I have been out of WHFB for a couple of years now and I have an enormous VC army I've decided I no longer need to keep around the house. What's the best way to sell things these days, VC in particular. It seems unlikely to me (but I could be wrong) that anyone's looking for like 8,000 poi...
by Phoenixenvy
Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:10 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Rage Quit
Replies: 14
Views: 1448

Re: Rage Quit

Moribund wrote:The GW and Mantic skeletons are pretty much the name height.


The skeletons are the most similar, but the others are nowhere close.
by Phoenixenvy
Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:09 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Which Armies can go "Magic Light" in 8th edition?
Replies: 12
Views: 904

Re: Which Armies can go "Magic Light" in 8th edition?

Lizardmen absolutely can. The Slaan happens to be the best caster around, but that doesn't mean he is the only way to win. Salamanders are disgusting, Saurus are still tough as nails, and chameleon skinks and terradons are now big(ger) pains to the opponent. The fact that a non-magic LM army doesn't...
by Phoenixenvy
Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:45 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Rage Quit
Replies: 14
Views: 1448

Re: Rage Quit

Mantic undead are also a fair bit smaller than GW's, to be fair.. While they are nice sculpts, I think they look silly when GW figures are on the table. Have you considered buying used? I do put some effort into it, and it takes some time, but I never pay more than 50% of retail for something unless...
by Phoenixenvy
Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:12 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Throne of Vines Question
Replies: 105
Views: 3446

Re: Throne of Vines Question

I think this one has been discussed pretty well here folks. Anyone coming in with an opinion at this point is either +1ing, failing to understand the issue, or failing to read the previous three pages of posts that detail the arguments very, very thoroughly. It's in the FAQ heap, so no need to keep...
by Phoenixenvy
Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:11 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: old rat ogres are back in style
Replies: 19
Views: 1411

Re: old rat ogres are back in style

Obviously I'm llate to the party, and I'm glad people like the retro minis, but for me, those are the ugliest things I've seen. They look like they were sculpted out of mud.
by Phoenixenvy
Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:26 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Throne of Vines Question
Replies: 105
Views: 3446

Re: Throne of Vines Question

consider the effects of the Ring of Hotek. Roll a double 4 (for example) within 12" and you will miscast, but your opponent will still get a chance to dispel after you roll the double, before the spell comes into play. Rules written to accompany last edition's rules for Miscasting, and while s...
by Phoenixenvy
Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:01 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Throne of Vines Question
Replies: 105
Views: 3446

Re: Throne of Vines Question

How is it any different then irresistable force and resolving the spell? This doesn't answer my question. But to give yours a response, the rulebook refers to "Irresistible Force" and "resolving the spell effect". It does not refer to "Miscast event" and "Miscast ...
by Phoenixenvy
Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:53 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Screening against cannons works then?
Replies: 49
Views: 1711

Re: Screening against cannons works then?

Neverminding which rules set you want to use, how could this ever be considered a rational strategy? If your unit is large enough to block the cannon's LoS completely, it should just kill the cannon's sad little crew. And if it's not, the the cannon is just going to pivot, and your little plan has f...
by Phoenixenvy
Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:35 am
Forum: The Glass Cabinet
Topic: anti-shine spray giving a cloudy finish
Replies: 13
Views: 897

Re: anti-shine spray giving a cloudy finish

I had this happen for the very first time this weekend when I was varnishing the minis for our Games Day table. Talk about panic! I still don't know why it happened, and it only happened on the front half of every model, but I found that scrubbing the models with a large soft brush took care of the ...
by Phoenixenvy
Mon Aug 23, 2010 8:59 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Throne of Vines Question
Replies: 105
Views: 3446

Re: Throne of Vines Question

I This is the order of operations: 2) double 6s -> Miscast (event) AND irresistable force (event) have occurred (person who's turn it is chooses which is first) 4) Roll on miscast chart (Miscast Effect) ( Where do you form a rational basis for splitting a single 'thing' into two 'sub-things', ~Even...
by Phoenixenvy
Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:11 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: People not declaring their magic lore
Replies: 97
Views: 3274

Re: People not declaring their magic lore

Wow - I had no idea this could be such an emotional issue. All I do is arrange a game with a mate, or at the local club. We each specify how many points, and what race we're planning to use, and then I go away and write a list. I had no idea that people got so het up about something as simple as th...
by Phoenixenvy
Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:34 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: cut your own hand
Replies: 13
Views: 754

Re: cut your own hand

Wasn't this FAQ'd? I thought it was along the lines of..."miscast, roll on miscast table, choose if you want to use the cupped hands, roll the dice to transfer the miscast result". Was this changed in 8th? I checked the FAQ last night, and yes, it was. That must have been where I saw it a...
by Phoenixenvy
Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Forum: Warhammer 40.000
Topic: The Next Codices?
Replies: 44
Views: 1619

Re: The Next Codices?

Your order is pointless, you're not GW. GW is releasing Dark Eldar next, followed by Codex: Grey Knights and quite probably with Necrons afterwards, as someone already went through the trouble to tell you. Stop posting wish lists, it's pointless and confuses people. There will be no Codex: Inquisit...
by Phoenixenvy
Fri Aug 20, 2010 9:16 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: People not declaring their magic lore
Replies: 97
Views: 3274

Re: People not declaring their magic lore

Ah, for those people at the local store I pull a few Wood Elves out and ask if they want to play. When they say yeah and write up a list that should demolish Wood Elves, we go and play. We get to the table and I start deploying my Ogres. It would be pretty irrelevant in my case as my lore choices w...
by Phoenixenvy
Fri Aug 20, 2010 9:15 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Is using a chart during the game fair or cheating?
Replies: 53
Views: 1862

Re: Is using a chart during the game fair or cheating?

In the US, we use categories like that, but we expect through accommodation that everyone performs at the same level. Kind of ridiculous, as you say, but that's the way it is. Therefore, to my mind, it makes more sense to make the same accommodations available to everyone, and those who don't need t...
by Phoenixenvy
Fri Aug 20, 2010 8:01 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Is using a chart during the game fair or cheating?
Replies: 53
Views: 1862

Re: Is using a chart during the game fair or cheating?

We had this debate some months ago and it got rather silly. Here's how it works: "tools to participate" doesn't equal "tools to do well". A guy who can't do maths can still PARTICIPATE in Warhammer just fine, he just (probably) won't do very well at it. The act would in the case...
by Phoenixenvy
Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:22 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: [8th ed] 2v2 Ally rules
Replies: 23
Views: 1215

Re: [8th ed] 2v2 Ally rules

manicpsychotic wrote:I think TK would still get half the dice and just not be able to do anything with them.


It's all one pool, from which all casters draw. There are no rules for separation either.
by Phoenixenvy
Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:51 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: cut your own hand
Replies: 13
Views: 754

Re: cut your own hand

Grotsnot wrote:You're looking at it wrong: there's nothing that says you can choose not to use it.


Except, sadly, GW published strategy materials. Not that I'm advocating for their use as rules, just explaining where the misconception may continue to arise from...
by Phoenixenvy
Thu Aug 19, 2010 10:23 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Smoke and Mirrors and "Self and Unit" target spells
Replies: 56
Views: 1018

Re: Smoke and Mirrors and "Self and Unit" target spells

Quotes please. Already given. You refuse to accept what is written twice, by two different people, directly from the BRB, right in front of you. You choose to invent the rules to match your idea, and patently ignore the truth of the matter. You are entrenched in your viewpoint and will not be moved...
by Phoenixenvy
Thu Aug 19, 2010 5:52 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Smoke and Mirrors and "Self and Unit" target spells
Replies: 56
Views: 1018

Re: Smoke and Mirrors and "Self and Unit" target spells

The rules on page 97 make no distinction between spells that target only the wizard and spells that target the wizard and the unit he's joined. The spell is capable of effecting the unit and is cast on the wizard. Yes it is cast on the unit as well, but again no distinction is made. The unit loses ...
by Phoenixenvy
Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:20 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Smoke and Mirrors and "Self and Unit" target spells
Replies: 56
Views: 1018

Re: Smoke and Mirrors and "Self and Unit" target spells

Seems farily clear to me. The wizard is the target, it effects him and which ever unit he is in at the time. So if he moves, so does the spell effect. That's the whole point of this conversation, and you've missed it.. The spell targets both the wizard AND the unit he is with when it is cast. By th...
by Phoenixenvy
Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:06 am
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Smoke and Mirrors and "Self and Unit" target spells
Replies: 56
Views: 1018

Re: Smoke and Mirrors and "Self and Unit" target spells

Staurikosaurus wrote:Earth Blood is only capable of affecting a unit if the wizard is present in said unit during casting.


Why?
by Phoenixenvy
Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:10 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Ghoulkin or Vanguard?
Replies: 5
Views: 368

Re: Ghoulkin or Vanguard?

Only because Ghoulkin isn't in the sequence listed in the BRB, I get the inclination that Vanguard should happen first, followed by ghoulkin. Ghoulkin would be the last thing that happens before the game begins, and vanguard moves are a clearly described step prior to the game start. This is also th...
by Phoenixenvy
Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:35 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: [8th ed] 2v2 Ally rules
Replies: 23
Views: 1215

Re: [8th ed] 2v2 Ally rules

2d6 is all that is ever rolled for the winds of magic. There are no rules for anything else. You may, of course, play as you like.
by Phoenixenvy
Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:32 pm
Forum: Warhammer 40.000
Topic: Force weapons
Replies: 27
Views: 781

Re: Force weapons

He carries a witchblade to make him strength 9 vs vehicles as his staff doesnt do this - fluffwise this is an Eldar 'force weapon' but it doesnt count as one for gaming purposes (it wounds on a 2+ instead) Gotcha.. I'm afraid several version of Eldrad are kicking around in my brain. Hardly anyone i...
by Phoenixenvy
Wed Aug 18, 2010 2:23 pm
Forum: Warhammer 40.000
Topic: Skimmer tanks, tank shocking
Replies: 19
Views: 534

Re: Skimmer tanks, tank shocking

Ah, thanks meldon.. That must be it. I don't play in big tourneys, but I do like to read the comp rules and such.
by Phoenixenvy
Wed Aug 18, 2010 2:21 pm
Forum: Warhammer 40.000
Topic: Force weapons
Replies: 27
Views: 781

Re: Force weapons

Book's not handy, but I know it's not just a vanilla witchblade because he has one of those as well (for whatever reason). The staff wounds on 2+ and ignores armor saves, for certain, but I'm pretty sure it's a Force Weapon. I've never actually gotten to suck anyone's soul out with it, so if it's no...
by Phoenixenvy
Wed Aug 18, 2010 2:19 pm
Forum: Warhammer Fantasy
Topic: Throne of Vines Question
Replies: 105
Views: 3446

Re: Throne of Vines Question

Gotta agree with Baleanoon here. Throne of vines ignores a miscast on a roll of a 2+. Guess what? It's too late you already miscast. Just because you resolve the miscast after the spell goes off has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that you have already miscast. Except that you haven't alread...

Go to advanced search